Busy weekends in May

This month has been booked up!… a different and new visit each weekend. Exactly how I like it.

The first weekend of May was spent in Sunderland, working with a lovely group of people to host the Sunderland 10k and Half Marathon Events. It’s amazing how much goes on behind the scenes of running and sport events that we, as competitors, just don’t think about! With Paula Radcliffe and Aly Dixon running as part of the Half-Marathon event, it was great to see some of the pros in action too (When myself and the rest of the crew weren’t getting blown away by the gale force wind and rain!)

FullSizeRender-42

Next came a slightly more slower-paced challenge than I’m used to…walking. This was in the form of the Yorkshire 3 Peaks Challenge! I had the joy to be taken by my closest school friend and her family to a country cottage in the Yorkshire Dales for the weekend.

FullSizeRender-43

Now when you’re fit from running, cycling and swimming, it’s hard to imagine that walking might be difficult…but after 24 miles, 3 peaks, fish and chips and lots of post-event stretching, I still suffered from the dreaded DOMS for a few days! What a rewarding experience though!

In approximately 10 hours, we arrived back at the car and without blisters…Hallelujah!

IMG_2495

Another challenge was brought to me on the next weekend: my first standard distance triathlon. The BUCS Standard event took place in Southport and after a very early start (4am) and a few nerves on the start line, I surprised myself with a race I was very happy with!! The swim was in some pretty grim water (leaving us with mud beards post-race), but it went fast and I was soon out on my bike doing laps of the flat course. Luckily, the run went well…probably due to the scenic route through the flowery park and the sunshine, which came out quickly to say hello.
With the fastest run of the day, 18th overall and a bronze team medal, I was a happy lady!

Last weekend, the final one of the month, definitely didn’t take a step down in enjoyment and success! I travelled to Ireland for the first time, with my boyfriend’s family, to compete in the Sprint distance triathlon at Lough Cutra Castle. As a keen racer in the castle triathlon series last year, I was keen to attend the first one of the series this year!…With a good swim, (climb up the muddy hill out of transition) and ride, I felt confident to smash the run and gain as many places as possible if any plodders might be lurking in front. For the first time ever, no women overtook me on the bike section and I overtook two, leaving me with some confidence!

img_2516.jpg

The run was very hard, but good fun! The hard rain made the off-road course pretty sludgy and I could definitely have done with packing my trail shoes! (or even spikes!)

To my surprise and enjoyment, with a couple of hundred metres to go, one of the marshals finally spoke a word as I passed them saying ‘first woman!‘. As I turned into the finish I saw the finishing tape waiting across the line. The feeling was great and I was then faced with an instant prize…the amazing spread of post-race snacks that the Castle Tri Series put on. After lots of chatting and a cheeky interview I went for the double-down look to try and warm up and waited for the prize giving.

More racing and another podium from the rest of the team made it a pretty successful weekend! With this being the first time I’ve looked back over the month, it’s crazy to see how much you can squeeze in!

On to the next month!

 

Ciao for now! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

