Easter Holidays

So the holidays are nearly over…but I’ve had a wonderful time!

FullSizeRender-33

Starting it off with some wonderful sunshine (a bit of sunburn) and followed by just over a week in Cornwall! Several of Barnecutt’s big Cornish pasties, cafe trips and sunny bike rides were just some of the things we got up to over the week. Family visits and lots of tea and cake were also high on the agenda and made it feel like a wonderful holiday!

On Easter Sunday, East Cornwall Harriers (my second claim club) were hosting a fell race as part of the Multi-Terrain Race Series. The 5 Tors fell race was my first of its kind and I found it pretty challenging! The ascents were leg-burners … and the descents required a certain skill that I have not yet mastered!! haha. All in all it was an interesting Sunday run and I was happy to come away as 5th lady and with a team prize! (The Sunday roast after was great recovery food too!!)

IMG_2207

After a good amount of stretching on Sunday afternoon and evening, I was happy to wake up on Monday without feeling like a cripple! Just as well, because it was time for a cruising group ride to the sea! We set off for Whitsand Bay, not realising how warm it was and had to ditch the gloves quite soon in!

FullSizeRender-35

We arrived at the coast about 15miles in and then took the lovely scenic coastal road to the hidden ‘Cliff Top Cafe‘. Now I’m not one for a full English every weekend morning, but once in a while it’s just what I fancy. Sat on a picnic bench looking out over the sea was just the right spot for sausages, beans and bacon! Yumyum.

FullSizeRender-34

The drama began when we set off back from the cafe and the newly fitted chain on my new bike decided to break. Luckily, a friendly cyclist at the cafe had a chain-splitter with him and linked it bad together within a few minutes! We thought I was safe until the chain split again, only a few miles back into the ride home. I had no choice but to pocket the chain and allow Steve and his Dad to push me up the hills and for me to free-wheel down the hills…what a palaver! haha

Back in Leeds and it’s all chained up and ready to go at tomorrow’s Stockton Duathlon. It will be my first draft-legal race and so I’m looking forward to using other people’s legs to my advantage…cheeky. Hopefully the experience I have gained from doing chaingang will help when riding in a group!

Now time for something else that the Easter holidays are for… getting uni work done! It will soon be time for the end-of-year hand-ins, so I must crack on!

Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

